Connect with us

Sports Radio News

FSR Sets Weekend Lineup

Published

on

FOX Sports Radio (FSR) announced today its weekend lineup for the 2015 football season.  Beginning September 12 and 13, FSR will feature programming dedicated to both college and professional football, including game day previews, analysis and interviews, hosted by a diverse ensemble of sports entertainment personalities, analysts and former players.

Brady Quinn, former Notre Dame/NFL quarterback and FOX Sports analyst, and Jason McIntyre, editor-in-chief of USA Today’s The Big Lead, will join the network’s weekend lineup this season.  The Big Lead with Jason McIntyre will air Saturday mornings from 6-9 a.m. ET and feature McIntyre’s preview of the weekend in sports, as well as the biggest guests in sports media.  Quinn, a former first-round draft pick, will join FSR weekend personality Brian Noe as they provide their distinct takes on the weekend in football from 8-11 p.m. ET on Sundays.

In addition, FOX NFL Sunday, America’s No.1 NFL pregame show featuring hosts Terry Bradshaw, Howie Long, Jimmy Johnson, Michael Strahan and Curt Menefee, will return home to FSR on Sundays at 12:00 p.m. ET.  Leading into the program, FSR will add a simulcast of FOX NFL Kickoff on Sundays at 11:00 a.m. ET.  The new hour-long program will be hosted by Charissa Thompson and feature a dynamic cast including Colin Cowherd, who recently launched The Herd with Colin Cowherd on FS1, FSR and iHeartRadio.

“I couldn’t be more excited about FOX Sports Radio’s upcoming football season programming,” stated Scott Shapiro, Premiere Networks Vice President of Sports Programming.  “On the heels of Colin Cowherd joining our weekday lineup, the addition of Brady Quinn and Jason McIntyre to our already strong weekend roster will give football fans the coverage they are craving each and every week from the most informed and opinionated personalities in the industry.”

“I’m excited to talk X’s and O’s with Brian Noe on all the NFL games this season!” shared Quinn.  “I think fans will enjoy our in-depth look at the results of the game from the QB pocket.”

McIntyre stated, “I’m thrilled to be joining FOX Sports and Premiere Networks, and I’m excited to bring The Big Lead‘s ethos to a national radio audience.”

Below is FSR’s 2015 weekend football line-up:

Saturdays

2am-6am ET/11pm-3am PT             Jonas Knox

6am-9am ET/3am-6am PT               The Big Lead with Jason McIntyre

9am-12pm ET/6am-9am PT             Anthony Gargano & Lincoln Kennedy

12pm-4pm ET/9am-1pm PT             The Blitz with Ben Maller & Tomm Looney

4pm-8pm ET/1pm-5pm PT              FOX Football Saturday with Steve Hartman & Brady Poppinga

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT            Brian Noe & Mark Willard

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT           Arnie Spanier

Sundays

2am-6am ET/11pm-3am PT             Jonas Knox

6am-8am ET/3am-5am PT               Nick Ashooh

8am-11am ET/5am-8am PT             FOX Football Fantasy with Michael Harmon & Dan Beyer

11am-12pm ET/8am-9am PT           FOX NFL Kickoff Simulcast

12pm-1pm ET/9am-10am PT           FOX NFL Sunday Simulcast

1pm-5pm ET/10am-2pm PT             FOX Football Sunday with Mark Willard & Ryan Field

5pm-8pm ET/2pm-5pm PT              FOX Football Sunday with Mike Hill & Kirk Morrison

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT            Brian Noe & Brady Quinn

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT           Arnie Spanier & Chris Plank

Sports Radio News

Jeff Rickard Named Program Director of WFNZ in Charlotte

“After our first conversation I knew Jeff was the one to take us to the next level.”

Published

on

Jeff Rickard is headed to Charlotte. The sports radio veteran has been named the new program director of WFNZ, one of the Southeast’s premier sports radio brands.

Rickard replaces Terry Foxx who announced in February that he was leaving Charlotte to take over KUT in Austin. 

“We are committed to making sports radio even bigger in Charlotte, adding the 92.7 FM signal in March was just the beginning of that commitment,” Marsha Landess, Regional Vice President of Radio One, said in a press release. “Having a successful veteran like Jeff Rickard join our team will help take us to the level that a passionate sports city like Charlotte deserves. Jeff brings to WFNZ extensive sports experience, talent, drive, and a passion for success. He will be a great complement to our incredibly talented local Charlotte on-air team. After our first conversation I knew he was the one to take us to the next level. As the flagship station for the Charlotte Hornets as well as Charlotte FC we are looking forward to an incredibly successful future with Jeff leading the charge.”

Rickard’s resume in sports radio speaks for itself. He was most recently the brand manager at WEEI in Boston, a role he exited in January. Prior to that, he spent six years at 107.5 The Fan in Indianapolis serving as both a weekday host and the station’s program director. He has also worked nationally for ESPN Radio, FOX Sports Radio, and SiriusXM, and spent time during the early part of his career working in Denver and Salt Lake City.

“I had been planning on taking a professional sabbatical this year but after meeting with Marsha Landess and learning more about Radio One, I began to get more excited to get back to work,” shared Rickard. “Radio One as a company, combined with Marsha’s leadership and the potential for WFNZ, was just too appealing to not be a part of. I am extremely grateful to Radio One for this opportunity and can’t wait to start working with the talented staff in Charlotte. My family and I are all in on this situation and can’t wait to get started on this new chapter.”

Not one to waste time diving in, Rickard officially stepped into the Charlotte offices today to meet his new staff.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Kirk Herbstriet Wants To Be Held To Same Standard For NFL As College Football

“Herbstreit was on The Pat McAfee Show on Friday and he said he is already at Pro Football Focus in Cincinnati doing his research.”

Published

on

The NFL schedule was released last week, and Thursday Night Football has a lot of interesting matchups for its first year on Amazon Prime. It is also a new broadcast booth with Al Michaels and Kirk Herbstreit on the call. 

With Herbstreit now adding Thursday Night Football to College Gameday, he has already started preparing for the upcoming season. Herbstreit was on The Pat McAfee Show on Friday and he said he is already at Pro Football Focus in Cincinnati doing his research.

“I’m just trying to lay a foundation,” said Herbstreit. 

Herbstreit told McAfee that whenever anyone asks him to talk about a college team, he can quickly tell them what the DNA of that team is. Now he wants to bring that level of preparation to his NFL broadcasts. He will look at a different matchup every week this summer to get a more detailed idea of what each team is about: 

As for his connection with Al Michaels, Herbstreit mentioned he has gone out to dinner with him a couple of times and he wants to make going out to eat with his broadcast partner a frequent deal.

“Hung out with him 2-3 times. Had a chance just to get to know him. When you go into a new deal, I love like Wednesday night dinner, I want to make a staple and just hang out and get to know him and hopefully he will get to know me. When you do that, it allows you to have natural chemistry.”

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Andrew Mason To Succeed John Clayton At 104.3 The Fan

“Mason comes to The Fan from DNVR, a digital outlet where he provided written and audio content for the last three seasons.”

Published

on

John Clayton passed away earlier this year. That left 104.3 The Fan without a lead Broncos writer for the 2022 season. On Monday, the station announced that it had hired a successor in Andrew Mason.

Mason comes to The Fan from DNVR, a digital outlet where he provided written and audio content for the last three seasons.

“Mase’s work speaks for itself as one of the market’s most respected analysts when it comes to writing about and discussing the Broncos,” Raj Sharan, The Fan’s program director, said in a press release. “Replacing someone of the legendary stature of John Clayton was not something we took lightly, and we believe Mase is the perfect person to pick up that mantle and bring tremendous credibility and content to our rapidly growing digital platforms.”

Andrew Mason has a lot of credibility with Broncos fans. He has covered the team for 19 years. He has also written a book called Tales from the Denver Broncos Sideline.

The Fan won’t be his first foray into Denver radio either. Mason has previously been a host on Mile High Sports Radio and the defunct KDSP- AM.

“I’m thrilled to join The Fan team and add what I can to the efforts of building Denver’s premier online destination for Denver fans,” said Mason. “Being tasked with replacing a legend like John Clayton is a responsibility I take very seriously, and I’m honored The Fan has entrusted me with this opportunity.”

Continue Reading
Advertisement
Advertisement

Trending

Copyright © 2021 Barrett Media.