Tue. Dec 1st, 2020

NSMA Announces Awards Finalists For 2020

“Final ballots will be sent to NSMA members on Dec. 1, with voting open until Dec. 31.”

This week, the National Sports Media Association announced its 2020 awards finalists and 2021 Hall of Fame ballot. 

Each year, NSMA Hall-of-Famers are nominated by a group of previously inducted members. Finalists on the 2021 Hall-of-Fame ballot include first-timers Tim Brando, Tom Jackson and Dick Stockton. 


  • Tim Brando, FOX, CBS, ESPN
  • James Brown, CBS
  • Joe Buck, FOX
  • Chris Economaki, ABC (deceased)
  • Tom Jackson, ESPN
  • Dan Kelly, NHL on CBS, St. Louis Blues (deceased)
  • Bill King, Oakland A’s/Raiders, SF Giants/Warriors (deceased)
  • Tim McCarver, NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX
  • Jim Nantz, CBS
  • Dick Stockton, FOX, CBS, Turner

The 2020 National Sportscaster of the Year finalists match the list from 2019, except for one addition, ESPN’s Doris Burke. Burke was not on last year’s ballot after she won the award in 2018.


  • Mike Breen, ESPN/ABC
  • Joe Buck, FOX
  • Doris Burke, ESPN/ABC
  • Mike ‘Doc’ Emrick, NBC
  • Kevin Harlan, CBS, Turner, Westwood One
  • Al Michaels, NBC
  • Jim Nantz, CBS
  • Tony Romo, CBS
  • Mike Tirico, NBC
  • Scott Van Pelt, ESPN

The National Sportswriter of the year list includes two first-time finalists, The Athletic’s Nicole Auerbach and ESPN’s Adam Schefter. In all, there are 296 finalists for NSMA’s state sportscaster and sportswriter of the year awards from every state and Washington D.C., less Alaska. The full list of state and national awards finalists can be seen at nationalsportsmedia.org.

Final ballots will be sent to NSMA members on Dec. 1, with voting open until Dec. 31. Hall-of-Fame inductees and award winners will be informed during the first week of January. Announcements will be made the second week, with all finalists and inductees set to be honored during the 61st NSMA Awards weekend from Winston-Salem, N.C., June 26-28, 2021. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.